Entering the Second Week

So the first week of NaNoWriMo is past and it is now getting into the second week. I would say that I have stalled, but somehow I’m managing to push myself through the stalled mentality and keep up on my daily word counts. Because of this, I broke 32,000 words yesterday! And if I were to really apply myself I could probably get to 50,000 words by the end of the week. However I don’t think that will be the end of this book. I still have so much more story to write and I feel like it will probably end up more around 60-70k words. Will I be able to write that by the end of November? I’m sure I could, we’ll see, but either way I will have a partial draft to upload to NaNoWriMo so I can get my free stuff and then I can purchase Scrivener to fine tune my draft since I only have the 30 day trial right now.

I have had a really hard time writing other things since starting this. Even this blog post was supposed to be written on Friday night and I was like “I don’t wanna do it!!!!!” And so today I said if I didn’t write it I could no longer talk about entering the second week because it would be half over! I remember when I was writing book 1 I took days off where I didn’t write a single word, or only wrote one paragraph and that’s all I could get out, but NaNoWriMo has pushed my limits. Even when I REALLY REALLY don’t want to write I tell myself I HAVE to get at least 1,100 words out. And even if I dick around ALL day, by midnight I usually have like 1,300 words and then I’m proud of myself and I proved to myself that I can do it.

What does this mean? It means that I could probably pound out book 2 and 3 like nobodies business if I could write full time, but I can’t. What I am excited for is finishing book 1 over my Christmas holidays because I will have 3-4 whole weeks to finish editing my last 10 chapters and having proven to myself that I can force myself to work through the stalled periods, I should have NO EXCUSE as to why I can’t finish 10 chapters in 3-4 weeks!! So I’m going to do it and if I don’t do it I’m going to have to come on here and tell everyone why and I’m going to be embarrassed and can feel like a loser.

Anyways, my advice for those of you who ALSO feel like they are stalling in the second week, I encourage you to keep pressing through your stalled moments!! Even if you have to bribe yourself with an hour of TV (I had to do that one day) or with food (Also did that), bribery works!! Tell yourself if you write 300 words you get something for it!! But keep writing my fellow writers, KEEP WRITING!! You can do it, I can do it, and we will do it together!!

~Kat

Categories: Book Musings | Tags: , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Entering the Second Week

  1. Kathy

    Bribery definitely works. You are doing very well – I’m going to be happy to finally hit 50K, as I have tried 5 times before (generally while in school with at least once part time job) an haven’t finished before. This is my year to finish, even if I don’t particularly care for the product come December 1st.

    • That’s what edits are for! At least that’s what I keep telling myself, hahaha. The important thing is getting all your idea’s out on the page. Once they are all there, then you have something you can work with and make into something even greater!! I already have some places that I’m not fond of, but I’ll re-work it later. The idea is there and that’s what counts!! Keep going, you can do it!!

      • Kathy

        I already know I am going to be successful this year – other years my mentality was I was “trying” to be successful. This year I am being successful. Every new day is a personal best.

      • That is an awesome mentality to have! I should try that as well!

      • Kathy

        Do it – it feels great!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

